My Best of 2010!

Posted: January 8, 2011 in Bakwaas
Tags: , , ,

First – off, wishing everyone a great 2011 ahead. I know this post of mine comes after a long break, but lets just say that all good things come after a wait (hahahaha). Well, this post will not be just restricted to movies but other topics of interest as well. However, since the theme of this blog is movies, lets kick off with them first.

Best Flicks of 2010

Well I gotta admit; 2010 has not been too great a year for movies in my book. There has not been a single movie released in 2010, which received my highest rating (Absinthe rating), although there were quite a few to watch this year. Anyways, the ones which I liked this year are as follows (in no particular order):

Fish Tank : This was not a widely released movie, but still was a good watch.

Lebanon: This is another low-key foreign language movie which was quite unique and definitely worth a look. I have always wondered how it will be for people sitting within a tank, and this movie gives an excellent perspective of the same, with almost 80% of the movie being shot in a tank. And then too .. its not boring at all !

Four Lions: This was a rare spoof-comedy on jihadis, and was quite hilarious (provided you could keep up with the british accent). My movie review here.

Social Network: A good perspective on Facebook and its origins, and its founder. This is more of a drama, so the story is what matters here. My movie review here.

Ghost Writer: This movie by Roman Polanski was a bit slow but turned out to be quite a good watch. I think the novel may have been better.

Easy A: The comedy pick of the year. ‘Due Date’ and ‘Other Guys’ were also quite good.

Shutter Island: The cinematography was excellent; the ending could have been better.

Biggest disappointment(s) of the year:

Never Let me Go: Snooze-fest! … although the cinematography was quite good.

Black Swan: Artsy -fartsy bore from the director of ‘Requiem for a dream’. Hope this doesn’t win the Oscar this year ……..aaargh!

 

Best Sound / Music Artist of 2010

And the award for that goes to Aussie Band “Temper Trap”. Well, technically they came to the limelight in 2009 with their album “Conditions”, but since I discovered them in 2010, lets just leave it at that 😛 . ‘Coldplay’ has some serious competition now. I have no idea why the band is called Temper Trap, but whenever i listen to their music, it does help me to relax or cool down my temper …. maybe it’s that then? … lol

Below is a music video of one of their most popular tracks – “Sweet Disposition”.

 

Best Music Video of 2010

And the winner is OK GO for “End Love”. Their music videos are pure creative genius. Read my previous blog post on them here.

 

Best (??) / Most Read Article of 2010

Well, its not like this is my favourite article. However I did notice that this was the most read article on Time magazine’s website in 2010. You can read the full article here. I had mentioned this in a previous blog post here. Guess we should start buying stocks of beer / alcohol companies  in 2011 😛 …… the best stock -tip of 2011 …lol

Leave a comment